Question: What are your hours?
Answer: Our hours are done by appointment. We’re closed on Sundays, New Years Day, St. Patrick’s Day, Memorial Day, Armed Forces Day, Veterans Day, Thanksgiving, and Christmas.
Question: What is your best method of contact?
Answer: Email through the contact page. We’ll respond back within 48 hours (excluding the holidays listed above).
Question: What is your mailing address?
Answer: Our mailing address is PO Box 456, Grand Ledge, MI 48837.
Question: What forms of payment do you accept?
Answer: We accept debit/credit (except American Express), money orders, cash and cryptocurrency. In order to mitigate potential conflicts, we’re no longer accepting checks as a form of payment.
Question: What’s your policy on face masks?
Answer: We do not mandate face masks as we see it as a personal choice; however, if you pay with a debit/credit card or would like to spend time on the range, you will be required to remove your mask in order for us to verify your identity with your driver’s license/state ID along with the name on the debit/credit card.
Question: Do you only service the Lansing area or are you willing to service outside that area?
Answer: We can only teach the CPL/CCW curriculum in Michigan until we get licensing approved in other states; however, we’re able and willing to provide our other courses and services anywhere where we’re needed in the United States.
Question: Where are your classes hosted at?
Answer: We typically host our classes on Zoom, Total Firearms and at the Mulliken District Library; however, if you’d like to host a class or a private lesson at your residence or place of business, we can accommodate that. Contact us if you’d like more information.
Question: I’m not 21 years old yet. Can I still sign up for the CPL class?
Answer: Yes, however, your 21st birthday must be within 6 months of taking the class.
Question: How many attempts do I get to qualify for my CPL/CCW?
Answer: Three. If you don’t qualify within those three attempts, you must re-take the entire class again.
Question: My certificate is lost, damaged, etc. Can I acquire a new one?
Answer: As long as we have a record of you passing our class, we can provide you with a new certificate for a $20 service fee.
Question: My handgun has a red dot and/or laser sight. Am I able to use those to qualify for my CPL/CCW?
Answer: Unfortunately, no. We require that you utilize your iron sights for when you attempt to qualify on the range and/or take a renewal class with us.
Question: What’s the minimum age to sign up for your New Shooter package?
Answer: 12 years. Anyone under the age of 21 must be accompanied by their parent or legal guardian. There’s a 2 person max limit for the class.
Question: What’s the minimum age to use the firing range?
Answer: 12 years. Anyone under the age of 21 must also be accompanied by their parent or legal guardian. There’s a 3 lane max with no more than 2 people per lane.
Question: Where can I read your range rules?
Answer: You can find our range rules here.
Question: Since marijuana is legal in Michigan, can I use the range after smoking, etc?
Answer: We abide by local, state and federal laws. Also, due to liability reasons, anyone that is presumed to be under the influence of drugs, marijuana (also including if you possess a medical marijuana card), alcohol and/or suffer from mental illness will not be permitted to use the range. It’s important to be coherent when handling a firearm so that you and others are safe.
Question: What attire is required to using the range?
Answer: The range is outdoors so dress appropriately. Closed toed shoes (if you’re wearing flip-flops, you must also wear socks), and no sleeveless or low-cut shirts. You must also wear eye and ear protection (prescription eye or sun glasses is fine).
Question: Is an appointment required for range usage?
Answer: Yes! Appointments must be made at least 24 hours in advance. Furthermore, we require appointments as opposed to walk-ins due to insuring that a range safety officer is present in case the range site doesn’t have one since we don’t have a permanent range location at this point in time.
Question: What must I provide during the Basic Handgun course?
Answer: For the basic course, you’ll need to bring a handgun, 100 rounds of ammunition, targets, and ear and eye protection. However, we can also sell you the targets, as well as, ear and eye protection if it’s needed. For our prices, click here.
Question: Can I use self-reloaded or remanufactured ammunition?
Answer: Due to liability reasons, reloaded ammunition is not allowed. All ammo must be factory-made (i.e. Federal, Magtech, etc).
Question: Can I use tracer, incendiary, frangible, birdshot, black powder, steelcase or armor-piercing ammunition?
Answer: Due to liability reasons, we can’t allow such ammo to be used while on the range.
Question: Does BDC sell ammunition for the range?
Answer: The limited amount of ammunition that we have is reserved for our classes only. Therefore, it’s your responsibility to bring the proper amount of ammunition that you would need for your time on the range.
Question: If I’m pregnant or nursing, can I still use the range?
Answer: Due to the risk of potential lead exposure, we strongly recommend that you wait.